Epic Tale of My Cohort Experience: Week 10

Monday: 10/28/13
Blah
I decide to start counting down how many dreaded classes I have left.  After today I have 12.

Tuesday: 10/29/13
Blah

Wednesday: 10/30/13
Blah.  I get to register for my spring classes tomorrow at 7:20 AM.  I can’t wait.  13 more to go and after I register tomorrow it will be even less!  I also have a HUGE midterm tomorrow.  Ugh!  Kiley thinks this is ridiculous that a teacher would have a test on Halloween.  She says, “What is wrong with people?”

Thursday: 10/31/13
I wake up early to register.  I grow frustrated because I am unable to register for two of the classes I had really hoped to take.  I resolve to keep checking for drops.

My first class goes well.  It always does.

My midterm…well my professor hands us 5 blank sheets of paper stapled together along with questions. They are all short answer, plus we have an essay.  This is horrible.  I know all the answers, but maybe one or two, but ALL short answer?  Really?  This is ruthless.  My hand hurts and I am relieved after writing for 1 1/2 hours I am finished.  I don’t even double check my answers.  I am spent.

Friday: 11/1/13
I have to attend a seminar this Friday morning.  It is about resumes and interviews and blah, blah, blah. I am sure the info is helpful, but I have a hard time tuning in.  I am not worried about finding a job.  I will find one and if I don’t it is not the end of the world.  Plus I have a really hard time with resume advice.  I feel a lot of the things I hear from “experts” essentially are telling you to lie on your resume. For example, attending an hour long seminar on how to write grants does not mean I am now an expert at grant writing therefore I should boast about this on my resume.

My dreaded class isn’t so bad.  All we do is discuss our field assignment. Whatev…only 10 more dreaded classes and I will be free.

Next week is field.  I. CAN’T. WAIT.

Leave a Reply

