The Epic Tale of My Cohort Experience: Week 8

Monday: 10/14/13

Brian is off today.  It is Columbus Day & he works for a bank.  I wish I didn’t have to go to class today, especially since my first class should be an online class or a Saturday seminar and my second class is the dreaded class, which is actually growing on me.  What can I say, I like the content & the content has started to win against the dreaded professor.

Aside from all of this, all I can think about is finishing school.  I have 13 classes left, plus student teaching.  I am trying to figure out how I can take these remaining 13 classes in 2 semesters.  I will have to take summer classes for sure.  The course list comes out on Wednesday.  I cannot wait.  I am hopeful things fall into place.

Last night I dreamt I was hired at the last minute to teach Kindergarten.   I walked into the school (which was my elementary school) for the first time on the very first day of school.  I was thinking how the first day of Kindergarten is extremely important for parents and here I am: the teacher who was just hired and my room wasn’t ready and I didn’t even have a plan.  This was a nightmare!  It made me realize how happy I am that I am going to teach high school.  I want no part of Kindergarten!  I kept thinking, “why didn’t they call Lesli? She would be awesome at this!” When I woke up, I realized I should have read The Kissing Hand to the class.  Yep, that would have solved all my problems!

I get very tired in my first class.  I have a lot of trouble staying awake.  I hope eating my lunch in between classes will wake me up.  It doesn’t and I wish I would have spent the 30 minutes getting coffee.  Ugh.

The dreaded professor decides to shake things up today.  He asks us to move and then we work on a group activity.  I feel like he picks on me.  He calls my group to the front to present what we found, except we really didn’t accomplish much during our discussion time preparing.  This fact really doesn’t show.  It goes okay.

When I leave class I have plans of going to Starbucks before I head home.  I cannot wait to get my hands on a Pumpkin Spice Latte!  I know I will not make it home without one.

I drive home and I am greeted by my husband, which was nice.  He tells me of all his accomplishments. I am thankful he is home so he can take our son to his Dr.’s appointment.  He will have his follow-up X-ray today and we will find out if he can be off of his crutches. He can.

Later Kiley has a soccer game.  It is against the number one team in our division.  We haven’t done well since we moved up this fall.  The game is great!  Very equally matched and our girls do not give up. I sit there and watch, thankful I really don’t have any homework looming.

Tuesday: 10/15/13

The course list comes out tomorrow and I can hardly stand it.  I truly had no idea how much I wanted to be done with college right now!  The fact that after this week I will only have 7 weeks left of this semester, and 2 of those are in the field, makes my heart sing.  I wish I didn’t take all my work so seriously.  I bet I would achieve the same result if I lightened up a bit.   Maybe I will try it.

Before school I run errands.  I feel accomplished.  It is a nice feeling.

Later I find out  I am being moved to a different school for field experience.  It’s fine.  I am okay with it. The more types of populations I see, the better.

Wednesday: 10/16/13

The course list is posted at 8:30 AM.  I am driving to school at this time.  After I get to school, I rush to my building and find a bench.  I pull out my laptop and begin searching.  I am immediately disappointed.  Many of the classes I was hoping to take at a Regional campus are not offered there this coming spring, even though they have been in the past.  Even so, because of this I am able to narrow down what I will take in the spring more easily.  Several of the classes I have left are only offered AFTER 4 PM.  I am not sure why.  I am meeting with one of my professors tomorrow and I will discuss this with him.  I certainly cannot take classes after 4 PM in the spring.  Too many activities go on in the evenings in the spring.  If this is the case in the fall, I can probably pull it off, but it certainly won’t be easy 😦  Again, another reason why it is not the best idea for an adult with 3 children to be in college.  I wonder if more adults would decide to be teachers if the path to this career met the needs of an adult schedule?  I could do early childhood online and a lot of middle childhood courses are offered at the regional campuses, but High School Education is only offered at the main campus and the program is very flawed.

I get tired in my first class again. I really am having trouble staying awake.  Again I hope my lunch will wake me up.  Again, it doesn’t.  Why didn’t I go get coffee.  I knew where this was headed!  Oh well. The dreaded professor walks in and tells us to sit in different seats.  I already am, which he points out to everyone – even though I only did it because someone decided to sit in my seat today.  He explains we need to get out of our comfort zones. Does he not realize having a class with him is enough to make anyone uncomfortable?  Besides, I am a 34 year old college student.  I would say I live every day outside of my comfort zone.  We go over the essay questions that are going to be on our midterm Friday.  His input is very helpful, but I can’t help getting a bit mad.  He wants us to be very direct.  He is looking for very specific things.  He puts me in a little box and I hate it.  I hate it! I hate it! I hate it!  I do not feel like I am allowed to discuss the things I want to discuss.  I am supposed to regurgitate information back to him concisely.  I want to be my own person.  He does not want us to feel this way. He has no idea the way he is teaching us may be easier to grade, but we aren’t learning.  I have only memorized what he wants me to say.  UGH!!!!!!!!

Thursday: 10/17/13

I have developed this habit of stopping by Subway on the way to class Tuesday’s & Thursday’s (well, this is only the third time).  My uncrustables have been eaten to death.  It is time to change things up a bit.  My first class goes well. Students are still giving their lessons, which means I have not had any homework for this class for multiple sessions because I did my lesson the first day!  It feels nice.  My second class is the boring class, but it goes okay today.  My professor has us complete hands-on activities.  After my classes I meet with my favorite professor to go over the remaining classes I have to take.  I want to make sure I am not missing anything and that I really only have 13 more classes.  The meeting goes well and we spend a lot of time talking.  He asks about my family.  He knows I am busy, but I really don’t think he has any idea how busy I actually am.  No one could possibly get it.  My entries in this blog don’t really even explain it and I have come to learn that it really can’t be explained – it must be lived.  Oh well.  My life is crazy.

The football game is tonight instead of tomorrow because it is being televised.  Brian takes everyone and I stay home to study for my midterm for the dreaded class, which is tomorrow.  I also need to edit the take home portion. I am freaking out about it.  I know my stuff, but one can never know what this professor will do.  He wants a very specific answer and if you stray, well he is not so kind.  He stifles learning.  I wonder if he realizes this? He only sees things one way and refuses to allow us to ponder the other side, NOT A GOOD TEACHER!  Controversies have multiple sides and it benefits no one to pretend otherwise.

I can’t fall asleep.  I toss and turn with thoughts of my exam tomorrow.  I realize I made an error on my take home portion and fix it in my head, knowing I have to wake up tomorrow an allow time to fix the one I printed.

Friday: 10/18/13

I wake up earlier than usual today because I have to take Aubrey and her friend to school then head to a seminar.  I am very nervous about my impending midterm, but I try to not think about it.  I fix my take home essay and I am thankful I realized the error before I turned it in! I arrive to the seminar early and decide to sit and study.  I wonder how much more I can possible study?  After the seminar is over I walk to Starbucks for a Pumpkin Spice Latte.  I note it takes 7 minutes to get there from my building.  Not bad.  Although, the line is VERY long.  I expect this though because I am at Starbucks on a college campus.  I have plenty of time.  I get my coveted latte and walk back to my building so I can study more.  On my way there I walk slowly and take in the beautiful scenery.  At least my college is beautiful.

I study.  I study and I study.  Finally I can take no more so I walk over to some people in my class and we all discuss our impending doom.  I wish I wasn’t so worked up.

The time finally comes and I have to go to class.  The dreaded professor walks around collecting our take home portion.  Next he passes out the test.  I look over the entire thing.  I have a moment where I think I might possibly walk out of the room.  The questions do not resemble anything we were supposed to study.  I realize I know the answers and I need to stop freaking out because we only have 50 minutes.  I begin writing, knowing the answers will roll off the pen.  I feel confident about my answers, but I am also extremely frustrated over the content of the exam.  I wish I had time to give the questions more thought.  He is getting a surface answer.  I do not have enough time to think deeply about what he has given us.  This only makes my opinion of this man fall even further, if that is possible.  I leave class relieved this is over.  I now have to focus on picking everyone up from school and getting ready for our family pictures tonight.  Brian and I won a contest which included a photo session.   Scheduling has been a nightmare, but tonight is the night.  I am happy the weekend is here – even if it means I have to wake up at 6 AM for soccer games!

Leave a Reply

