Thriving

“Colleges are a lot like old-age homes; except for the fact that more people die in colleges…”
                                                                                                                  Bob Dylan
I certainly understand the thought Bob Dylan is trying to convey with this statement.  He is proposing that while in college, students lose their spirit.  This can happen for many reasons. However, in spite of this, I believe Mr. Dylan intends for us to conclude that somewhere along the way a teacher has discouraged his students or caused them to give up, resulting in  the symbolic deaths of many.  He may be right.  However, I personally have not experienced this.  Perhaps I have been on the fortunate end of the spectrum.  Most of the professors I have had challenge me to be an individual and to think for myself.  Or maybe, it’s not about the teachers at all?!  Maybe, it is more about the outlook I have as a student.  Yes, I sit in math class and take notes for approximately an hour.  This is not my most favorite thing to do.  Nevertheless, while my hand aches from writing or I am worked up inside trying to remember the properties of graphing parallel lines I am not thinking, “This is a waste of time.  I am dying inside.”  Rather, I am determining:

1.      What parallels can I draw from the way I feel right now?
2.      How can I learn from this? 
3.      How can I benefit others from this experience?

No I am not dying.  I am learning.  I am experiencing new things.  I am preparing.  I am thriving.  I  AM ALIVE.
Leave a Reply

