Perfection -vs- Reality

I love school. However this sentiment does not come without issue. The problem I am having is making time for it when I’m not physically attending class. I am half inclined to buy a Town car and hire a chauffeur in an effort to stop losing so much time driving around to all the places I need to be. The problem with this solution is, of course, I don’t necessarily have the resources to secure a Town car nor do I have a surplus in finances deemed necessary for assuming the responsibility of paying a staff.

As ridiculous as the aforementioned thought of hiring a driver sounds maybe what I should truly consider is that perhaps it’s possible I have taken on too much? Why did I do this? What was I thinking?! However, when posing this obvious question I am reminded of this one little thing that is sure to get me through.  What is it you ask?  It is stubbornness. This attribute is typically lumped into the likeness of the plague, but  in the circumstance I currently find myself, I deem this character trait to be favorable.  Simply stated, I will not give up.  I will not admit defeat.  I will accomplish what I set out to achieve.

This is what I am facing day to day: My homework consists of reading, which I really hate and writing-lots and lots of writing. Fortunately for me, I love to write.  Unfortunately for me, I am a perfectionist when it comes to this task.  Not pouring myself 100% into each and everything I must create is not me.  I liken this to asking a composer to create an entire symphony in a mere matter of an hour.  I do not compare my writing talents to that of a world famous composer.  I simply point out that such magnificent masterpieces are rarely constructed so swiftly.

Here in lies the problem.  I will drive myself certifiably insane and my family will never see me if I don’t find a way to balance perfectionism with reality.  I have never been one to toe the line and perform with less than stellar effort…at least when it comes to school. We’ll see what happens…maybe I have a few lessons to learn about myself or maybe I really do just need a driver 🙂

Published with Blogger-droid v1.7.4
Leave a Reply

